Best Honeymoon Luggage Sets (2026)
What are the best honeymoon luggage sets in 2026?
Best Honeymoon Luggage Sets in the US — October 2026
Answer: The Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium Bundle is the pick: CNN Underscored found its Bigger Carry-On compact enough for international overhead compartments while the Medium fits a lot. (Sources: cnn.com)
We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our picks.
| Pick | Role | Price | US availability | Channel | KL score | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium | Best overall | see retailer | Unknown · page confirmed live Oct 24 | Away (direct) | — | Buy |
| Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece | Best value | $329.97 | In stock · checked today | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | — | Buy |
| Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set | Best budget | $153.76 | In stock · checked today | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | — | Buy with caution |
| Calpak Evry Starter Bundle | Alternative | see retailer | Unknown · page confirmed live Oct 21 | Calpak (direct) | — | Buy |
| Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside 2-Piece | Alternative | $355.00 | In stock · checked today | PORTMANTOS (unverified marketplace seller) | — | Buy |
| Away Bigger Carry-On (single) | Alternative | $295.00 | In stock · checked today | Away (unverified marketplace seller) | — | Buy |
| BÉIS The Carry-On Roller (single) | Alternative | see retailer | Unknown · page confirmed live Oct 21 | Beis (direct) | — | Buy |
| Monos Carry-On Pro (single) | Alternative | see retailer | Unknown · page confirmed live Oct 21 | Monos (direct) | — | Buy |
| Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22" Carry-On | Alternative | — | — | — | — | buy link temporarily unavailable |
| Delsey Paris Chatelet Air 2.0 2-Piece | Alternative | $549.99 | In stock · checked today | PORTMANTOS (unverified marketplace seller) | — | Buy |
| American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece | Alternative | $177.42 | Not in stock · checked today | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | — | Buy with caution |
Why these picks
- Best value — Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece: In CNN Underscored's tests, the Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece's polypropylene shell flexed impressively, keeping cracking and denting at bay on its journey through baggage handling. (Sources: cnn.com)
Market checked: 2026-10-27 · Region: United States · Products evaluated: 11 · Confirmed purchasable today: 5 · Sources reconciled: 18
Recommendations reviewed: 2026-10-10 · Prices checked: 2026-10-27 11:59 UTC · Release: R67
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
TL;DR
Top pick: Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium set ($640 at Away) — CNN Underscored's best luggage set after it tested nine: a 7.9-lb Bigger Carry-On and a 10.4-lb Medium checked bag in polycarbonate, which its tester checked to London and back, dragged over cobblestones and hit with a hammer, and found "near-impervious to common travel abuses". Yahoo Shopping names the three-piece version, Away's Jetsetter Bundle, its best hard-shell set. [src1, src2, src13]
Best value: Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece ($329.97) — CNN Underscored's best budget set and "an excellent value for your money": a 6.5-lb carry-on and a 9.6-lb large in flexible polypropylene that came through CNN's hammer test without a dent or crack, with a 10-year limited warranty. OutdoorGearLab names both Freeform sizes its pick for a hardshell that costs less. [src1, src3, src4, src12]
Best budget: Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set ($153.76) — Yahoo Shopping's best affordable set and the cheaper set CNN Underscored also liked: a carry-on, a medium and a large for about the price of one premium carry-on. CNN still rates the Freeform the better buy: the Amazon Basics shell took cuts and minor dents in its testing, and neither outlet found a TSA lock. [src1, src2]
The testers do not agree on one order. CNN Underscored, which tested nine hard-shell sets, ranks the Away pair first and the Freeform as its budget pick [src1]. Yahoo Shopping's best overall set is the Calpak Evry Starter Bundle, with Away's three-piece Jetsetter Bundle as its best hard-shell set and the Amazon Basics trio as its best affordable one; it did not include the Freeform [src2]. OutdoorGearLab tests single suitcases rather than sets, and in both its checked and carry-on tests it ranks Away's hardshells above the Freeform and the Freeform above Amazon Basics' [src3, src4]. This card ranks the Away pair first because the two outlets that tested it put it at or near the top, and the Freeform as the value pick because CNN and OutdoorGearLab both recommend it as the cheaper hardshell and an NBC Select editor travels with it [src1, src2, src3, src4, src8].
Summary
Of the outlets we read, only CNN Underscored tested complete sets head to head: nine hard-shell sets, travelled with, dragged against walls, hit with a hammer and put in the shower. The Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium came out best overall and the Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece best on a budget; Delsey, Monos, July, Rimowa, Amazon Basics and Quince sets were also tested [src1]. Yahoo Shopping's picks come from its editors' own long-term use plus four travel professionals: the Calpak Evry Starter Bundle overall, the Amazon Basics 3-Piece for value, the Away Jetsetter Bundle for hard-shell, the Travelpro Maxlite 5 for soft-side and the BÉIS Starter Set as a carry-on set [src2]. OutdoorGearLab tests single suitcases, and its 2026 rankings back the same brands: Away's Large and Carry-On are its picks among hardshells, the Freeform Large and Freeform carry-on its picks for a cheaper hardshell, and the Briggs & Riley Baseline its upgraded softshell [src3, src4].
For a honeymoon, a two-piece set is usually enough. CNN's tester suggests that couples pool their clothes in one checked bag and share one carry-on rather than each wheeling their own [src1]. That is why the top and value picks are both pairs. Buy the three-piece Jetsetter ($915 at Away when we checked on 2026-10-10) or the Amazon Basics trio only if you want a medium as well [src2, src14].
Measure the carry-on before you fly. Delta caps carry-ons at 22 x 14 x 9 inches and 45 linear inches, and says the measurement includes handles and wheels [src9]. By the published dimensions, the Away Bigger Carry-On, the BÉIS Carry-On Roller, the Samsonite Freeform carry-on, the Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-inch and the Amazon Basics 21-inch are all over that box; the Calpak Evry carry-on, the Monos Carry-On Pro and the Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential (compressed) are within it. The compliance table below has the numbers. Checked bags have a limit too: OutdoorGearLab puts the Freeform Large at 66 linear inches, over the 62 that most airlines allow [src3].
Four sets have left this card. The Samsonite Omni PC, the previous "most durable budget 3-piece", has no tester behind that claim: OutdoorGearLab ranked its 28-inch piece 13th of the 15 checked bags it tested [src3]. We found no outlet that tested the Kenneth Cole REACTION Diamond Tower set, the Coolife 3-piece set or the Travelpro Maxlite Air V2 three-piece set; OutdoorGearLab ranked a single Coolife 20-inch carry-on 15th of 16 [src4]. The American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece stays only as a registry pick with a caution: The Knot suggests it for longer honeymoons, but OutdoorGearLab's test of its 28-inch spinner found poor wheels and concluded: "While the price is low, so is the value." [src5, src6]
Availability does not change the order. The Moonlight was temporarily out of stock on Amazon when we checked on 2026-10-10 [src18]. The Away pair, the Calpak bundle, the BÉIS Roller and the Monos Carry-On Pro are linked to their makers' own pages, where we checked prices on 2026-10-10. The live table at the top of the page shows today's price and stock for every pick.
Top 11 Honeymoon Luggage Sets Compared
| Set | Pieces | Shell | Weight (lbs) | Warranty | Price | Best For | Tested by | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium | 2 (22.7" Bigger Carry-On + 26" Medium) | Polycarbonate hardside | 7.9 + 10.4 | Lifetime limited | $640 at Away | Top pick | [src1, src2] | Check price |
| Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece | 2 (carry-on + large) | Polypropylene hardside | 6.5 + 9.6 | 10-year limited | $329.97 (Navy) | Best value | [src1, src3, src4] | Check price |
| Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set | 3 (21" / 26" / 30") | Hardside | Not stated in our sources | 1-year limited | $153.76 (Light Blue) | Best budget | [src1, src2] | Check price |
| Calpak Evry Starter Bundle | 2 (21" + 28.5") + packing cubes, pouches, tag | Polycarbonate hardside | 7.3 + 11.2 | 2-year limited | $289 at Calpak (list $578, final sale) | Set with packing cubes | [src2, src7] | Check price |
| Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside 2-Piece | 2 (21" + 25") | Polyester softside | 5.4 + 6.8 | Limited lifetime | $355.00 (Red) | Lightest set | [src2, src3, src4] | Check price |
| Away Bigger Carry-On (single) | 1 (22.7") | Polycarbonate hardside | 7.9 | Lifetime limited | $295.00 | The top pick's carry-on, alone | [src1, src2] | Check price |
| BÉIS The Carry-On Roller (single) | 1 (22.83") | Polycarbonate + PU trim | 7.81 | Limited lifetime | $268 at BÉIS (Beige) | Built-in weight indicator | [src2] | Check price |
| Monos Carry-On Pro (single) | 1 (22") | Polycarbonate hardside | 7.8 | Limited lifetime + 100-day trial | $251 at Monos on sale (list $295) | Laptop pocket, fits 22 x 14 x 9 | [src4] | Check price |
| Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22" Carry-On | 1 (22") | Ballistic nylon softside | Not stated in our sources | Lifetime, functional parts | $729 list | Warranty | [src3, src4] | Check price |
| Delsey Paris Chatelet Air 2.0 2-Piece | 2 (19" + 28") | Polycarbonate + faux leather | Not stated in our sources | Not stated in our sources | $549.99 (Angora) | Parisian style | [src11] | Check price |
| American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece | 3 (21" / 24" / 28") | Hardside | 11.5 (28" only) | 10-year limited | $177.42, out of stock on Amazon when we checked on 2026-10-10 | Registry pick, with a caution | [src6] | Check price |
Prices are approximate, and each is for the configuration named in the price column: piece count and colour change the listing and the price. Where our checks recorded an Amazon offer for the listing we link, the price is that offer, rounded; when our checks looked on 2026-10-09, the Freeform, Maxlite 5 and Delsey offers came from a third-party marketplace seller. Maker prices are from the makers' pages on 2026-10-10 [src10, src13, src15, src16], and the Briggs & Riley price is OutdoorGearLab's list price [src4]. The live table at the top of the page shows today's price and stock.
Carry-On Size Compliance (2026)
Delta caps carry-ons at 22 x 14 x 9 inches and 45 linear inches, and the measurement includes handles and wheels [src9]. The carry-on piece of each pick, by its published exterior dimensions:
| Carry-on piece | Exterior (H x W x D, in) | Within 22 x 14 x 9? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calpak Evry carry-on | 21 x 13 x 9 | Yes | [src10] |
| Monos Carry-On Pro | 22 x 14 x 9 | Yes, exactly | [src16] |
| Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential | 22 x 14 x 9, expanding to 11.5 deep | Yes, when compressed | [src17] |
| American Tourister Moonlight 21" | Not published in our sources; American Tourister says it meets domestic carry-on restrictions | Maker's claim only | [src18] |
| Amazon Basics 21" | 21.7 x 14.8 x 10 | No: over on width and depth | [src2] |
| Travelpro Maxlite 5 21" | 23 x 14.5 x 9 | No: over on height and width | [src2] |
| Away Bigger Carry-On | 22.7 x 15.4 x 9.6 | No: over on all three | [src2] |
| Samsonite Freeform carry-on | 23 x 15 x 10 | No: over on all three | [src12] |
| BÉIS The Carry-On Roller | 22.83 x 15.70 x 10 | No: over on all three | [src15] |
If either of you is flying a budget carrier, or connecting through an airport where agents use a sizer, take a carry-on from the "Yes" rows or expect it to be gate-checked. CNN's tester found the Bigger Carry-On compact enough for overhead bins on international flights [src1], but a sizer set to 22 x 14 x 9 will not take it, or the Freeform carry-on [src2, src9, src12].
Best for Each Use Case
Top Pick: Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium ($640 at Away) — Check price
CNN Underscored's best luggage set. Its tester checked both bags on a flight to London and back, dragged them aboard trains and over cobblestones, and hit their corners and edges with a hammer; both "proved near-impervious to common travel abuses", and they kept their contents fairly dry on a rainy day in London. The wheels are among the smoothest she has used, and the two-strap compression system is simpler to adjust than other brands'. Her complaints are small: the zipper pulls take some negotiating to snap into the TSA lock, and the textured shell is harder to scrub clean. The Bigger Carry-On weighs 7.9 lbs and the Medium 10.4 lbs, and she packed two weeks of winter clothes and shoes into the pair for London [src1]. Yahoo Shopping's best hard-shell set is the Jetsetter Bundle, the same two bags plus The Large; it notes that they have no expansion panels and that the shells may scuff over time, and lists a lifetime limited warranty and 10 colours [src2]. OutdoorGearLab has not tested these two sizes, but Away's Large is its best hardshell for most people and Away's standard Carry-On its favourite hardsided carry-on [src3, src4]. The Bigger Carry-On measures 22.7 x 15.4 x 9.6 inches, over the 22 x 14 x 9 box on all three sides, so it may need to be gate-checked on a strict flight [src2, src9]. When we checked on 2026-10-10, the pair cost $640 at Away ($295 + $345) and the three-piece Jetsetter $915; CNN had listed the pair at $590 in February [src1, src13, src14].
Best Value: Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece (~$256) — Check price
CNN Underscored's best budget set: "equal parts rugged and refined", and "an excellent value for your money, especially if you don't want to spend $400 or more." Its polypropylene shell flexes rather than cracks; after a trip through the cargo hold, and after CNN's tester stood on each case and took a hammer to the corners, there was not a dent or crack to be found. Her scratch test did leave real cuts in the shell, the zippers showed no water resistance, and she would not call it as sturdy as the Away. At 6.5 and 9.6 lbs it is lighter than the Away pair, it expands, and its long zipper pulls lock more easily [src1]. OutdoorGearLab makes the Freeform Large its best hardshell for less and the Freeform carry-on its favourite cost-effective hardshell, with the same reservations: the wheels and trolley handle feel less tough than on pricier bags, and the shell scratches. It puts the Large at 66 linear inches, over the 62 most airlines allow for a checked bag [src3, src4]. An NBC Select editor who flies with the set calls it "so sturdy" [src8]. Samsonite gives the carry-on as 23 x 15 x 10 inches and the Large as 31.1 x 20.9 x 13.8, with a 10-year limited warranty; on 2026-10-10 it sold the Navy set for $335.99 (list $479.99) [src12]. The price above is the Navy set on Amazon.
Best Budget: Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set (~$158) — Check price
Yahoo Shopping's best affordable set: a carry-on, a medium and a large for around $50 a piece, each with an expansion panel, an organised interior with zippered pockets and four spinner wheels. Its writer has used the carry-on for more than seven years; one interior zipper finally broke. Yahoo lists a one-year limited warranty and no TSA lock, and notes that the carry-on is 0.8 inches wider than the 22 x 14 x 9 guideline [src2]. CNN Underscored tested the set too and calls it "better than you think, given the price tag", with a scratch-resistant textured finish and easy compression straps, but its shell sustained cuts and minor dents in testing, the zippers are not water-resistant, the heavier cases are harder to steer, and there is no TSA lock: "You're still better off with the Samsonite, though." [src1] OutdoorGearLab ranked Amazon Basics' single 20-inch and 30-inch hardside spinners 14th in both of its tests [src3, src4]. The listing we link is the Light Blue set; CNN and Yahoo linked other colours of the same 21/26/30 set.
Set With Packing Cubes: Calpak Evry Starter Bundle ($289 at Calpak) — Check price
Yahoo Shopping's best overall luggage set. Its shopping writer has owned the set for years and calls it sleek, roomy and, for its weight, incredibly durable; apart from a few scuffs it still looks and works like new [src2]. Refinery29's tester, who flies once or twice a month, found the wheels "smooth as butter" and the polycarbonate shells light yet durable [src7]. The bundle is a 21 x 13 x 9-inch, 7.3-lb carry-on, inside the airline box, and a 28.5-inch, 11.2-lb large, both polycarbonate with TSA locks and expandable zippers, plus three packing cubes, two pouches and a luggage tag. When we checked on 2026-10-10, CALPAK listed it at $289, half its $578 list price, as final sale: no returns or exchanges. Its two-year warranty is the shortest stated on this card apart from Amazon Basics' one year [src2, src10].
Lightest Set: Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside 2-Piece (~$355) — Check price
Yahoo Shopping's best soft-side set is the three-piece Maxlite 5; this is the two-piece version, a 21-inch carry-on and a 25-inch medium. Yahoo gives their weights as 5.4 and 6.8 lbs; the bags are polyester with a weather-resistant finish, the checked bags expand by up to 2 inches, and the warranty is limited lifetime, with no TSA lock. The carry-on measures 23 x 14.5 x 9 inches, and Yahoo warns that it may be too big for stricter international limits [src2]. In OutdoorGearLab's tests the 21-inch was among the lightest bags it has tried and the 25-inch held 74 litres at 6.7 lbs, but both ranked in the lower half of its tests, behind the Freeform [src3, src4]. NBC Select lists the same 21/25 pair as one of the lightest sets it recommends [src8]. The price above is the Red set on Amazon; other colours are other listings.
The Top Pick's Carry-On, Alone: Away Bigger Carry-On (~$295) — Check price
The carry-on half of the top pick, sold on Amazon on its own. CNN Underscored tested it in the set; it weighs 7.9 lbs, measures 22.7 x 15.4 x 9.6 inches and holds 49 litres [src1, src2]. Buy it alone if one of you already owns a checked bag, or pair it with The Medium from Away's own site [src13].
Built-In Weight Indicator: BÉIS The Carry-On Roller ($268 at BÉIS) — Check price
The roller from Yahoo Shopping's best carry-on set, the BÉIS Starter Set: a shopping editor who has tested luggage for years bought the set for herself and her husband, and praises the roller's "unreal" wheels, padded handle, internal lock and built-in scale [src2]. BÉIS is also an NBC Select staff-favourite brand [src8]. BÉIS lists the Beige roller at 22.83 x 15.70 x 10 inches and 7.81 lbs, over the carry-on box on all three sides, with a limited lifetime warranty, at $268 when we checked on 2026-10-10 [src15].
Laptop Pocket, Fits the Box: Monos Carry-On Pro ($251 at Monos) — Check price
OutdoorGearLab's pick for travelling with a laptop: the only hardshell in its test with an external pocket that holds a laptop or tablet. It rolls very well and has a great packing system, but its main compartment held only 29.8 litres in OutdoorGearLab's measurement, it does not expand, and its shell scrapes easily [src4]. Monos gives its exterior as 22 x 14 x 9 inches, exactly the airline box, and its weight as 7.8 lbs, with a 100-day trial and a limited lifetime warranty. On 2026-10-10 it was $251 on sale ($295 list) in the colour we checked, and several colours were sold out [src16].
Warranty: Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22" Carry-On ($729 list) — Check price
OutdoorGearLab ranks the Baseline Essential second of the 16 carry-ons it tested, with its favourite packing system: a fold-out garment section and an expansion system that lifts the walls instead of unzipping a gusset. It names the Baseline Large its best upgraded softshell and says all functional parts are covered for life, with repairs for airline damage also possible [src3, src4]. The carry-on measures 22 x 14 x 9 inches compressed and expands to 11.5 inches deep [src17]. It is a single bag at a $729 list price, so it suits a couple who will keep travelling long after the honeymoon.
Parisian Style: Delsey Paris Chatelet Air 2.0 2-Piece (~$550) — Check price
TravelFreak tested the Chatelet Air 2.0 line and makes its International Carry-On the best Delsey bag overall: a polycarbonate shell with faux-leather accents and reinforced corners, quiet dual-density wheels and a 50/50 clamshell interior with laundry and shoe bags. It lists that carry-on at 21 x 13 x 9 inches and calls the Large "a beautiful beast" that is very heavy when empty [src11]; measure the 19-inch piece of this set against your airline's limit before you rely on it as a carry-on. The Knot suggests Delsey's Chatelet collection for couples who want to mix and match their spinners [src5]. This is the 19/28-inch pair in Angora.
Registry Pick, With a Caution: American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece — Check price
The Knot suggests this three-piece set for longer honeymoons, in a rose gold that is easy to spot at baggage claim [src5]. The one test we found is less kind: OutdoorGearLab gave the Moonlight 28-inch spinner an overall score of 57, praising its looks and its glide on hard surfaces but finding small wheels with exposed bearings that gummed up with dust and a shell that scratched easily, and concluded: "While the price is low, so is the value." [src6] That test dates from 2020. The set is a 21-inch carry-on, which American Tourister says meets domestic carry-on restrictions, with 24- and 28-inch checked bags and a 10-year limited warranty; the Navy set we link was temporarily out of stock on Amazon when we checked on 2026-10-10 [src18].
Head-to-Head Comparisons
Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium vs Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece
CNN Underscored tested both. The Away pair is the sturdier: it resisted dents, cuts and scratches and kept its contents fairly dry in the rain, where the Freeform's shell took cuts in the scratch test and its zippers showed no water resistance. The Freeform is lighter (6.5 + 9.6 lbs against 7.9 + 10.4), expands, has easier zipper pulls and costs much less [src1]. Both carry-ons are over the 22 x 14 x 9 box: the Away measures 22.7 x 15.4 x 9.6, the Freeform 23 x 15 x 10 [src2, src12].
Pick the Away pair if: you will keep travelling after the honeymoon and want the tougher shell.
Pick the Freeform if: you fly once or twice a year and would rather spend the difference on the trip.
Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece vs Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set
CNN Underscored tested both. The Amazon Basics set is cheaper and adds a medium, but its shell took cuts and minor dents, its heavier cases are harder to steer and it has no TSA lock; CNN's verdict is that "if you value quality as well as affordability, the Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece Luggage Set is the obvious winner" [src1]. Yahoo lists a one-year warranty on the Amazon Basics set [src2]; Samsonite gives the Freeform ten years [src12].
Pick the Freeform if: you can spend about $100 more for the better-built pair.
Pick the Amazon Basics set if: three pieces at the lowest price matter most.
Calpak Evry Starter Bundle vs Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium
Yahoo Shopping names the Calpak its best overall set and Away's three-piece Jetsetter its best hard-shell set [src2]. The Calpak comes with packing cubes and pouches, and its 21 x 13 x 9 carry-on fits the airline box; it weighs 7.3 + 11.2 lbs, has a two-year warranty and was final sale at $289 on 2026-10-10 [src10]. The Away pair is CNN's tested winner, with a bigger 49-litre carry-on that is over the box and a lifetime limited warranty [src1, src2].
Pick the Calpak if: you want everything in one box and a carry-on that clears a sizer.
Pick the Away pair if: you want the set with the stronger test record and the longer warranty.
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside 2-Piece vs Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential
OutdoorGearLab tested both lines. The Baseline Essential ranked second of 16 carry-ons and the Baseline Large second of 15 checked bags, with all functional parts covered for life; the Maxlite 5 pieces are among the lightest it has tested but ranked in the lower half of both tests [src3, src4]. The Maxlite 5 pair weighs 5.4 + 6.8 lbs [src2]; the single Briggs & Riley carry-on has a $729 list price [src4].
Pick the Maxlite 5 if: weight against a 50-lb checked limit matters most and you want two bags for less than half the price of one Briggs & Riley.
Pick the Briggs & Riley if: you will travel often after the honeymoon and want a bag built to be repaired for life.
Decision Logic
Default recommendation (unknown requirements)
→ Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium ($640 at Away): CNN Underscored's best set after testing nine, from the brand whose hardshells Yahoo Shopping and OutdoorGearLab pick for most people. If the budget is the binding constraint, the Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece (~$256), CNN's best budget set. [src1, src2, src3]
If budget is under $200
→ Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set (~$158), Yahoo Shopping's best affordable set, knowing that CNN found its shell less robust than the Freeform's and that it has no TSA lock. If you can stretch, CNN says the Freeform is worth the extra. [src1, src2]
If you want packing cubes and a carry-on that fits the airline box
→ Calpak Evry Starter Bundle ($289 at Calpak when we checked on 2026-10-10): Yahoo Shopping's best overall set, with packing cubes and pouches included and a 21 x 13 x 9-inch carry-on. It was final sale, so choose the colour carefully. [src2, src10]
If either of you is flying a budget carrier or a strict-sizer route
→ Take a carry-on that fits 22 x 14 x 9: the Calpak Evry carry-on, the Monos Carry-On Pro or the Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential (compressed). The Away Bigger Carry-On, the BÉIS Roller, the Freeform carry-on, the Maxlite 5 21-inch and the Amazon Basics 21-inch are all over the box, handles and wheels included. [src2, src9, src10, src12, src15, src16, src17]
If weight matters on an international honeymoon
→ Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside 2-Piece (~$355): 5.4 + 6.8 lbs, the lightest pair on this card among those with published weights, and Yahoo Shopping's soft-side pick. [src2, src3]
If you will keep travelling often after the honeymoon
→ Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22" Carry-On ($729 list), with a matching Baseline checked bag: OutdoorGearLab's second-ranked carry-on and best upgraded softshell, with all functional parts covered for life. [src3, src4]
If you want three matching pieces
→ Away's Jetsetter Bundle (the top pick plus The Large, $915 at Away when we checked on 2026-10-10), Yahoo Shopping's best hard-shell set; or the Amazon Basics 3-Piece on a tight budget. [src2, src14]
If the look matters most (registry, photos, mix-and-match)
→ Delsey Paris Chatelet Air 2.0 2-Piece (~$550), whose International Carry-On TravelFreak rates the best Delsey bag, from the collection The Knot suggests for couples who mix and match. The American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece is The Knot's rose-gold pick for longer trips, but OutdoorGearLab's test of its 28-inch found poor wheels. [src5, src6, src11]
Key Market Trends (2026)
- The testers' set picks are hardside. CNN Underscored tested only hard-shell sets, reasoning that they often perform better as checked luggage, and Yahoo Shopping's single soft-side pick is the Travelpro Maxlite 5 [src1, src2].
- "Carry-on" in a product name is not a size guarantee. Delta's 22 x 14 x 9-inch limit counts wheels and handles [src9], yet the Away Bigger Carry-On, the Samsonite Freeform carry-on and the BÉIS Roller are all over it [src2, src12, src15]. Check the dimensions, not the label.
- Bundles now include the organisers. The Calpak Evry comes with packing cubes, pouches and a tag [src10]; Away's suitcases come with a laundry bag [src2]; the BÉIS Roller has a built-in weight indicator [src15].
- Warranties range from one year to life. Yahoo Shopping lists one year for the Amazon Basics set and lifetime limited warranties for Away and the Travelpro Maxlite 5 [src2]; CALPAK gives two years [src10] and Samsonite ten on the Freeform [src12]; OutdoorGearLab says Briggs & Riley covers all functional parts of the Baseline for life [src3].
Important Caveats
- Prices move, and every price on this card is for a stated configuration: piece count and colour change the listing and the price. CALPAK's $289 for the Evry bundle on 2026-10-10 was half its $578 list price and final sale [src10]; CNN listed the Away pair at $590 in February, and Away charged $640 on 2026-10-10 [src1, src13].
- Colours sell out. Several Monos Carry-On Pro colours were sold out when we checked on 2026-10-10 [src16], and the Navy Moonlight set was out of stock on Amazon the same day [src18]. If the honeymoon is close, order early and confirm delivery for the colour you want.
- Hard shells scuff. Yahoo Shopping notes scuffing on both the Calpak and the Away [src2], OutdoorGearLab found that the Monos Carry-On Pro scrapes easily and the Freeform scratches [src4], and CNN's scratch test cut the Freeform and Amazon Basics shells [src1].
- Checked-bag size limits apply too: OutdoorGearLab notes that most airlines cap checked bags at 62 linear inches and puts the Freeform Large at 66 [src3].
- Not every set has a TSA-approved lock: Yahoo Shopping and CNN found none on the Amazon Basics set, and Yahoo lists none on the Maxlite 5 [src1, src2].
Changes since our last ranking
- Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set → added: Best budget
- American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece → Best value → Alternative
- Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium → added: Best overall
- Coolife Luggage Set, 3 Piece Lightweight Durable Hardshell → no longer among this card's picks
- Kenneth Cole REACTION Diamond Tower Collection Lightweight Hardside Expandable 8-Wheel Spinner Travel Luggage, 3-Piece Set → no longer among this card's picks
- Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece → Best overall → Best value
- Samsonite Omni PC Hardside Expandable Luggage with Spinner Wheels, 3-Piece Set (20/24/28) → no longer among this card's picks
- Travelpro Maxlite Air V2 Carry-On / Medium / Large Set → no longer among this card's picks
Source hierarchy
- Away Bigger Carry-On + Medium — Price: not available · Testing: CNN Underscored, OutdoorGearLab · Consensus: not available
- Samsonite Freeform 2-Piece — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-27) · Testing: CNN Underscored, OutdoorGearLab, NBC Select · Consensus: not available
- Amazon Basics 3-Piece Hardshell Set — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-27) · Testing: CNN Underscored, OutdoorGearLab · Consensus: not available
- Calpak Evry Starter Bundle — Price: not available · Testing: not available · Consensus: not available
- Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside 2-Piece — Price: PORTMANTOS (checked 2026-10-27) · Testing: OutdoorGearLab, NBC Select · Consensus: not available
- Away Bigger Carry-On (single) — Price: Away (checked 2026-10-27) · Testing: CNN Underscored · Consensus: not available
- BÉIS The Carry-On Roller (single) — Price: not available · Testing: NBC Select · Consensus: not available
- Monos Carry-On Pro (single) — Price: not available · Testing: OutdoorGearLab · Consensus: not available
- Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22" Carry-On — Price: not available · Testing: OutdoorGearLab · Consensus: not available
- Delsey Paris Chatelet Air 2.0 2-Piece — Price: PORTMANTOS (checked 2026-10-27) · Testing: The Knot · Consensus: not available
- American Tourister Moonlight 3-Piece — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-27) · Testing: The Knot, OutdoorGearLab · Consensus: not available