Best Outdoor Security Cameras 2026: 14 Compared (37 Sources)
What are the best outdoor security cameras in 2026?
Best Outdoor Security Cameras in the US — November 2026
Answer: Google Nest Cam (battery) is the pick: Reviewed calls its versatility the best thing about it and says the Nest Cam delivers on seeing and hearing near the camera, despite a little wind noise. (Sources: reviewed.com)
We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our picks.
| Pick | Role | Price | US availability | Channel | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Nest Cam (battery) | Best overall | $193.99 (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy |
| Wyze Cam Pan v3 | Best value | $44.98 (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy with caution |
| Blink Outdoor 4 + Sync Module Core (1 camera) | Best budget | $79.99 (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy |
| eufy SoloCam S340 | Solar pan-and-tilt with no required subscription | Check price | Unknown · page confirmed live Nov 6 | eufy (direct) | Check stock |
| Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel | 180-degree view with no monthly fee | Check price | Unknown · not yet checked | Reolink (direct) | Check stock |
| TP-Link Tapo C310 | Plug-in 2K camera with no required subscription | Check price | Not in stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | Amazon · no offer found | Check stock |
| eufy Floodlight Camera E340 | Floodlight camera | $179.99 (as of 11/06/2026 14:03 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 14:03 UTC - Details) | Amazon · sold by Anker EufyHome | Buy |
| TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT | Alternative | $94.99 (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy |
| Arlo Pro 6 (1 camera) | Alternative | $124.00 (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy |
| Arlo Pro 5S 2K (1 camera) | Alternative | $89.95 (as of 11/06/2026 14:03 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 14:03 UTC - Details) | Amazon · sold by alwayz-on-sale | Buy |
| Wyze Cam v4 | Alternative | $44.98 (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy with caution |
| Ring Outdoor Cam Plus (Battery) | Alternative | $99.99 (as of 11/06/2026 14:11 UTC - Details) | Low stock (as of 11/06/2026 14:11 UTC - Details) | Amazon.com (authorized retailer) | Buy |
| eufy SoloCam E30 (2-pack) | Alternative | $189.98 (as of 11/06/2026 14:13 UTC - Details) | In stock (as of 11/06/2026 14:13 UTC - Details) | Amazon · sold by Anker EufyHome | Buy with caution |
| eufyCam S3 Pro (add-on camera) | Alternative | Check price | Unknown · no price feed for this listing | Amazon · seller unknown | Check stock |
How we pick: We don't test products ourselves. We compare hands-on reviews from 9 testers.
Why these picks
- Best value — Wyze Cam Pan v3: Tom's Guide calls the Wyze Cam Pan v3 a solid camera that can keep an eye on a ton of space, and its clips look good with minimal motion. (Sources: tomsguide.com)
- Best budget — Blink Outdoor 4 + Sync Module Core (1 camera): Tom's Guide says person detection, a wider field of view and a more sensitive sensor make the Blink Outdoor 4 a worthy successor for the company's main outdoor camera. (Sources: tomsguide.com)
- Solar pan-and-tilt with no required subscription — eufy SoloCam S340: PCWorld says the high-grade pan/tilt Eufy SoloCam S340 operates without AC power, with telephoto and wide-angle lenses and a bundled solar panel. (Sources: pcworld.com)
- 180-degree view with no monthly fee — Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel: CGMagazine says the Reolink Argus 4 Pro's dual-lens system enables a wide 180-degree horizontal field of view, and Digital Camera World says it can record to a microSD card. (Sources: cgmagonline.com, digitalcameraworld.com)
- Plug-in 2K camera with no required subscription — TP-Link Tapo C310: T3 says the Tapo C310 is mains powered with a 3m power cable and is not designed around a cloud storage subscription. (Sources: t3.com)
- Floodlight camera — eufy Floodlight Camera E340: PCWorld's reviewer, with experience of most floodlight cameras on the market, says nothing comes close to besting the Eufy Floodlight Camera E340, which captures very high-quality video. (Sources: pcworld.com)
Market checked: 2026-11-06 · Region: United States · Products evaluated: 14 · Confirmed purchasable as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC: 10 · Sources reconciled: 37
Recommendations reviewed: 2026-11-06 · Prices checked: 2026-11-06 14:13 UTC · Release: R77
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Solar pan-and-tilt with no required subscription
eufy SoloCam S340 — see retailer · Unknown · page confirmed live Nov 6 · eufy (direct)
PCWorld says the high-grade pan/tilt Eufy SoloCam S340 operates without AC power, with telephoto and wide-angle lenses and a bundled solar panel. (Sources: pcworld.com)
180-degree view with no monthly fee
Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel — — · Unknown · not yet checked · Reolink (direct)
CGMagazine says the Reolink Argus 4 Pro's dual-lens system enables a wide 180-degree horizontal field of view, and Digital Camera World says it can record to a microSD card. (Sources: cgmagonline.com, digitalcameraworld.com)
Plug-in 2K camera with no required subscription
TP-Link Tapo C310 — — · Not in stock (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) · Amazon (no offer found)
T3 says the Tapo C310 is mains powered with a 3m power cable and is not designed around a cloud storage subscription. (Sources: t3.com)
Floodlight camera
eufy Floodlight Camera E340 — $179.99 (as of 11/06/2026 14:03 UTC - Details) · In stock (as of 11/06/2026 14:03 UTC - Details) · Anker EufyHome (unverified marketplace seller)
PCWorld's reviewer, with experience of most floodlight cameras on the market, says nothing comes close to besting the Eufy Floodlight Camera E340, which captures very high-quality video. (Sources: pcworld.com)
TL;DR
- Best overall: Google Nest Cam (battery) — $193.99 (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) · Check price on Amazon
- Best value: Wyze Cam Pan v3 — $44.98 (as of 11/06/2026 13:56 UTC - Details) · Check price on Amazon
- Best budget: Blink Outdoor 4 + Sync Module Core (1 camera) — $79.99 (as of 11/06/2026 13:59 UTC - Details) · Check price on Amazon
Summary
Tom's Guide and Reviewed each rank the Google Nest Cam (battery) first in their outdoor camera guides, so it is our best overall pick. Tom's Guide says it is "the best outdoor security camera for most people", and Reviewed calls it "reliable, accurate, versatile, and secure". Outlets do disagree: CNET's first pick is the Arlo Pro 6, SafeWise's is the Reolink Argus 4 Pro, Outdoor Life's is the eufy SoloCam S340, TechGearLab's is the eufy Floodlight Camera E340 (it ranks the Nest fifth of 20 and does not recommend it), and the Nest is not among the nine picks in Consumer Reports' guide. [src1, src2, src4, src6, src7] [src28, src29, src36]
The evidence moved the top pick. The Reolink Argus 4 Pro held it on this card before. SafeWise still ranks it first after hands-on testing, and The Ambient and PCWorld tested it too, but the Tom's Guide, Reviewed and Security.org guides we read do not list it. It stays here as our pick for a 180-degree view with no monthly fee. [src1, src2, src3, src4, src8, src11]
Our best budget pick is the Blink Outdoor 4. Tom's Guide and CNET each tested the camera with a Sync Module 2, and the listing we link includes the Sync Module Core. Tom's Guide's review calls it "the best cheap outdoor security camera", and its guide makes it the best budget fully wireless camera. CNET's review scores it 8.3, though it also says this "isn't a budget model". Security.org lists Blink Outdoor as its most affordable and Best Value pick. TechGearLab's test is harsher, ranking the Blink Outdoor 4 18th of 20. [src1, src3, src7, src18, src26, src28]
Our pick for a plug-in 2K camera with no required subscription is the TP-Link Tapo C310, which has two separate tests behind it: Consumer Reports' lab test and T3's review. CNET names it the best budget outdoor camera, but that entry gives no test result of its own, and T3's comments on price rest on UK prices, so the budget role stays with the Blink, which Tom's Guide tested and calls the best cheap camera. [src6, src7, src26, src33]
Our pick for a solar pan-and-tilt with no required subscription is the eufy SoloCam S340, which has three separate tests behind it. Consumer Reports says it "performs exceptionally well in our tests", PCWorld names it the best outdoor pan/tilt security camera, and Outdoor Life makes it Best Overall. [src6, src11, src19, src29]
Our pick for a floodlight camera is the eufy Floodlight Camera E340, which has two separate tests behind it: PCWorld calls it "tops in its class", and TechGearLab ranks it first of 20, though it must be hardwired. The TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT is Reviewed's best solar camera, but it stays an alternative because Expert Reviews' test is the one reported test we count. [src4, src11, src20, src28, src34]
Our best value pick is the Wyze Cam Pan v3, a wired pan-and-tilt camera, with a warning attached. TechGearLab names it Best Value Panning Security Camera, Outdoor Life's Best Value is the same camera, and SafeWise's outdoor guide makes it best for budgets, each from its own test. The warning is Wyze's security record: Reviewed "has decided to withdraw its recommendations for all Wyze security cameras", CNET will not recommend Wyze's Outdoor Cam v2 until its security issues are cleared up, and SafeWise reports a February 2024 breach. Security.org's Best Value is Blink Outdoor, which is already our budget pick. Reviewed's Best Value, the Elysoo 4K four-camera kit, has one test in what we read, and so does the eufyCam S3 Pro behind Tom's Guide's "best 4K performance for the price" verdict. [src2, src3, src4, src5, src7] [src28, src29, src30]
Recording plans differ by brand. SafeWise says Ring records nothing without a Ring Protect plan, and Reviewed lists those from $4.99 a month. Security.org says recording clips on Arlo requires Arlo Secure, at $9.99 a month for one camera or $19.99 for unlimited. Blink's US plans are $3.99 (Basic) or $11.99 (Plus) a month. A USB drive on a Sync Module 2 saves clips without one, but Blink says the Sync Module Core in the kit we link does not support local storage. Google Home Premium is $10 or $20 a month and optional, since the Nest Cam (battery) keeps three hours of video history free. Tapo Care starts at $3.49 a month and is optional on the Tapo cameras here, which record to a microSD card. Wyze's Cam Plus is $2.99 a month per camera and optional on the Wyze cameras here, which also record to a microSD card. [src1, src2, src3, src4, src6, src11] [src12, src15, src18, src28, src32]
Top 14 Models Compared
| Model | Price | Resolution | Power | Night Vision | Weather | Subscription | Best For | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Nest Cam (battery) | — | 1080p | Built-in battery or cable | Infrared (PCWorld, CNET); Reviewed lists color | IP54 | Optional Google Home Premium; 3 hours of history free | Best overall | Check price |
| Wyze Cam Pan v3 | — | 1080p pan-and-tilt | Wired; outdoor power adapter sold separately | Infrared, plus color | IP65 | None required: microSD up to 256 GB; optional Cam Plus | Best value | Check price |
| Blink Outdoor 4 + Sync Module Core (1 camera) | — | 1080p | 2 AA batteries | Infrared | IP65 | Blink plan for cloud and person detection; this kit's Sync Module Core does not support local storage | Best budget | Check price |
| eufy SoloCam S340 | — | 3K wide-angle + 2K telephoto | Battery + included solar panel | Infrared, plus color with spotlight | No IP code stated | None required: 8 GB onboard | Solar pan-and-tilt with no required subscription | Check price |
| Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel | — | 4K across 180° (dual lens) | Battery + solar panel | ColorX color | IP66 | None required: microSD up to 512 GB; box list shows no card | 180-degree view with no monthly fee | Check price |
| TP-Link Tapo C310 | — | 2K | Wired, plug-in | Night vision to 98 ft (maker's figure) | IP66 | None required: microSD; optional Tapo Care | Plug-in 2K camera with no required subscription | Check price |
| eufy Floodlight Camera E340 | — | 3K wide-angle + 2K telephoto | Hardwired | Infrared, plus color under LED panels (2,000 lumens per PCWorld, 900 per TechGearLab) | IP65 | None required: microSD up to 128 GB | Floodlight camera | Check price |
| TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT | — | 4K | Battery + solar panel | Starlight color, with spotlights | IP66 | None required: microSD up to 512 GB, not included | Reviewed's best solar | Check price |
| Arlo Pro 6 (1 camera) | — | 2K | Battery | Color, with spotlight | Not stated | Arlo Secure for cloud recording; local storage needs a hub | CNET's best overall | Check price |
| Arlo Pro 5S 2K (1 camera) | — | 2K | Removable battery | Color, with spotlight | IP65 | Arlo Secure for best features; local storage needs a hub | PCWorld's best overall | Check price |
| Wyze Cam v4 | — | 1440p | Wired | Color | Not stated | None required: microSD up to 512 GB; optional plan | TechGearLab's best indoor and outdoor | Check price |
| Ring Outdoor Cam Plus (Battery) | — | 2K | Rechargeable battery | Low-Light Sight (maker's term) | Not stated | Ring Protect plan to record | Reviewed's Alexa pick | Check price |
| eufy SoloCam E30 (2-pack) | — | 2K pan-and-tilt | Battery + removable solar panel | Night vision | IP65 | None required: microSD up to 128 GB, not included | CNET's best solar | Check price |
| eufyCam S3 Pro (add-on camera) | — | 4K | Battery + built-in solar | MaxColor Vision | Not stated | None required, but needs a HomeBase | Tom's Guide's 4K verdict | Check price |
Best for Each Use Case
Best Overall: Google Nest Cam (battery) — Check price
Tom's Guide says it is "the best outdoor security camera for most people" and found the 1080p footage "sharp and clear". Reviewed names it Best Overall for "its fantastic spread of free smart features and multiple installation options". Both list three hours of free video history and free person, vehicle and animal alerts. PCWorld found "arguably the easiest setup in the industry", Security.org scores Nest 9.2 out of 10 as its best DIY outdoor camera, CNET makes it its best AI outdoor camera, and SafeWise calls it "one of the best wireless outdoor cameras we've ever tested". TechGearLab's 20-camera test ranks it fifth with a score of 78 and says it "boasts strikingly clear video". [src1, src2, src3, src4, src7, src16] [src17, src28]
It has real limits. Most of the tests behind it are old: Reviewed's and PCWorld's reviews are both dated August 24, 2021. The newest dated test we read is TechGearLab's, from June 13, 2025, which says "Most features live behind a paywall", lists no siren, and says its upfront price and reliance on subscriptions "prevent it from earning our recommendation". PCWorld found night vision "infrared/black and white only" and could not reach the claimed 20 feet, though Reviewed lists "Color night vision" as a pro. Video is 1080p, and the battery is not removable, so the whole camera comes down to charge. Google rates that battery at 1.5 to seven months, per PCWorld. Reviewed lists "too easy to remove" as a con, since it sits on a magnetic base, and notes Google replaces a stolen camera at no cost. CNET warns about temperatures below freezing, though Reviewed lists a rating down to -4 degrees Fahrenheit. [src1, src4, src7, src16, src17, src28] [src36]
Best Value: Wyze Cam Pan v3 — Check price
TechGearLab's 20-camera guide names it Best Value Panning Security Camera, ranks it sixth with a score of 77, and says it "earns our strong recommendation". Its review, dated November 13, 2023, comes from cameras mounted on the corners of the reviewer's home and calls it "an exceptional home security tool and a great value". Outdoor Life's guide, updated January 17, 2025, makes it Best Value and says it "strikes a compelling balance" between price and features. SafeWise's outdoor guide makes it best for budgets, and SafeWise's review, dated February 20, 2024, tested video indoors and outdoors and calls it "one of the biggest bangs for your buck among budget cameras". Tom's Guide's review, dated June 29, 2023, ran it in a basement and on a back porch for a few weeks and calls it "a solid camera". It is a 1080p camera that pans 360 degrees, tilts 180, follows motion and records to a microSD card up to 256 GB. [src2, src28, src29, src30, src31, src32, src37]
Weigh Wyze's security record first. Reviewed "has decided to withdraw its recommendations for all Wyze security cameras" after customers reported seeing live feeds from cameras that were not theirs. CNET says of Wyze's Outdoor Cam v2, "We aren't going to recommend this cam until we're sure all security issues have been cleared up". SafeWise reports a breach on February 16, 2024 that affected as many as 13,000 users. Read the Wyze note under Important Caveats. [src4, src7, src30]
It has limits as a camera too. Wyze says that for safe outdoor use it "requires a Wyze Outdoor Power Adapter (sold separately)", and Tom's Guide says the included adapter and cable are not rated for outdoor use. It runs on 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only. Tom's Guide found that video "gets blurry during motion-heavy moments". TechGearLab faults its sensor and its "lackluster ability to perform facial recognition", and Outdoor Life says it has no AI analysis and that notifications are not as prompt as on higher-end cameras. TechGearLab's tester calls it "the most impressive color night vision I've ever seen on a security camera", while SafeWise found infrared sharper than color. SafeWise says playback from local storage "is a hassle". [src28, src29, src30, src31, src32]
Best Budget: Blink Outdoor 4 — Check price
Tom's Guide's review calls it "the best cheap outdoor security camera", and its guide names it the best budget fully wireless camera. Tom's Guide ran it outdoors beside the previous generation and found nighttime video "drastically better", and says the two AA batteries "should last up to two years". CNET's review, dated April 16, 2024, scores it 8.3 and calls it "hard to beat for homeowners that want an all-purpose eye on their yard or driveway". CNET's guide makes it its pick for battery life, and CNET's batteries lasted around a year and a half. Security.org lists Blink Outdoor as its most affordable and Best Value pick, and Outdoor Life, whose tester ran two cameras, makes it its easiest to set up. [src1, src3, src7, src18, src26, src29]
Tom's Guide and CNET tested the camera with a Sync Module 2, and the listing we link includes the Sync Module Core. CNET attached a USB flash drive to its Sync Module 2 and switched to local video saves, and Tom's Guide says the same. This kit cannot do that: Blink says its Sync Module Core "Does not support Local Storage or Clip Backup". Cloud storage and person detection need a Blink plan, at $3.99 (Basic) or $11.99 (Plus) a month. [src12, src15, src18, src26]
It has real limits. Tom's Guide's review was last updated November 15, 2023. It says the image is "not nearly as crisp" as the Nest Cam (battery), that videos are capped at 60 seconds, and that it works only with Alexa. CNET says its resolution, field of view, audio and detection features "fall short of the top cams we've tested", and that the Sync Module 2 needs careful placement. TechGearLab's test, dated June 13, 2025, ranks it 18th of 20 with a score of 57, lists "Poor low light quality, average daytime quality", and says "There are cameras with clearer image quality in this price range". CNET also says Blink has announced a 2K next generation, and Blink's devices page now calls the Outdoor 2K+ its next-generation camera. We read no test of that model. [src1, src7, src18, src26, src27, src28]
Solar pan-and-tilt with no required subscription: eufy SoloCam S340 — Check price
Consumer Reports says it "performs exceptionally well in our tests", with high scores for video quality, response time, data security and its free smart features. PCWorld's test, dated March 7, 2024, calls it "outstanding": two lenses (3K wide-angle and 2K telephoto) on a motor that pans 360 degrees (eufy's page lists 344), with a solar panel in the box. After more than two weeks in mixed cloud and sun, PCWorld's camera still reported 99 percent battery. Video stores on 8 GB of onboard memory with no subscription, which PCWorld calls "a truly no-cost alternative", small as it is. Outdoor Life's guide, updated January 17, 2025, makes it Best Overall and says "This is the best security camera I tested". [src6, src11, src19, src24, src29]
The limits come from the same tests. PCWorld says it runs on 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, has no 24/7 recording, carries no stated IP code, and had an "exceptionally trigger-happy" motion sensor until the sensitivity was turned down. Outdoor Life warns that its large files mean "you're going to run out of storage and need a paid subscription relatively quickly". Consumer Reports says its "only weak spot is data privacy". Read the eufy note under Important Caveats. [src6, src19, src29]
180-degree view with no monthly fee: Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel — Check price
SafeWise says "after hands-on testing" it takes the top spot overall, for its "ultra-wide 180° view and 4K clarity". The Ambient's August 2024 test calls it "the best smart security camera so far" from Reolink, says the two lenses are stitched "with no obvious evidence in the footage", and says its color night vision "works brilliantly" without extra lighting. PCWorld says the dual lenses deliver the 180-degree view "without suffering from fish-eye distortion". SafeWise's page carries an April 2025 byline and no exact update date, and its subtitle still names the Arlo Pro 4 as its top pick. [src2, src8, src11]
This link goes to Reolink's Argus 4 Pro page, where you choose the camera-and-panel option, the set SafeWise and The Ambient describe. Reolink says recording to a microSD card up to 512 GB has no monthly fee, and its box list shows no card. Its 5000mAh battery is not removable, per The Ambient. Both outlets mark down the Reolink app, and The Ambient notes no HomeKit support. [src2, src8, src21]
Plug-in 2K camera with no required subscription: TP-Link Tapo C310 — Check price
Two separate tests stand behind it. Consumer Reports' lab testing says it "captures video with higher quality than many other security cameras CR tests", with strong data security but a "lackluster" data privacy rating. T3's review, last updated July 4, 2022, was "very impressed with the camera's night vision", found setup "simple and straightforward", and calls it "a useful outdoor camera with superb night vision and a good quality sensor". T3 also says its notifications do not include images and its app integration is basic. CNET names it the best budget outdoor security camera, for 2K resolution, a siren, night vision up to 98 feet, IP66 weather protection and local microSD storage. CNET's guide says its picks are "Based on our tests", but this entry describes features and gives no test result of its own. It is a wired camera: CNET says it does not wire into a junction box, so "you'll need an outdoor-rated socket to plug it in". TP-Link says it connects by Wi-Fi or Ethernet and takes a microSD card up to 512 GB, while Consumer Reports lists 256 GB. No plan is required to record to a card. Read the TP-Link note under Important Caveats. [src6, src7, src23, src33]
Floodlight camera: eufy Floodlight Camera E340 — Check price
PCWorld's test, dated April 22, 2024, calls it "tops in its class": wide-angle and telephoto cameras on a pan/tilt motor, with dimmable LED panels up to 2,000 lumens and dual-band Wi-Fi 6. TechGearLab's 20-camera test, dated June 13, 2025, ranks it first with a score of 86 and says "The absolute best home security camera we tested is the Eufy Floodlight Cam E340". It names it Best Floodlight Home Security Camera and says "The Eufy swept the competition in these night quality tests". TechGearLab lists its light at 900 lumens, well under PCWorld's figure. PCWorld says it must be hardwired, usually replacing an existing porch light or floodlight, and takes a microSD card up to 128 GB. TechGearLab also lists the hardwiring as a con. PCWorld's marks against are a so-so design and no strong eufy home alarm system. TechGearLab's budget floodlight pick is the Wyze Cam Floodlight v2. Read the eufy note under Important Caveats. [src11, src20, src28]
Reviewed's Best Solar: TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT — Check price
Reviewed names it its best solar camera and says "you really do get a lot of bang for the buck" with this 4K camera and its solar panel, with crisp video, "surprisingly good" color night vision and free detection of people, pets and vehicles. Its marks against: no memory card included, a fixed camera with no pan, tilt or zoom, and only 15 fps video. Reviewed's entry reports no test result of its own; the only "tested" in it, on battery life, is TP-Link's lab test. Expert Reviews' UK test, published August 8, 2025, is headlined "A top notch solar-powered security camera" and says "The 4K video quality from the Tapo camera is excellent". With the panel connected, it says the battery "stayed at 100%, despite heavy use and a lack of direct sunlight". It also says there is no HomeKit support and that notifications with pictures need Tapo Care. The Gadgeteer leads its AI camera list with the C460 but reports no test of its own. [src4, src9, src22, src34]
This link goes to the C460 KIT, the camera-and-panel set Reviewed and Expert Reviews each describe. TP-Link's plain C460 page sells the panel separately. TP-Link rates the battery at up to 200 days on a charge and says actual life varies with settings, usage, router and environment. Read the TP-Link note under Important Caveats. [src4, src22, src34]
CNET's Best Overall: Arlo Pro 6 (1 camera) — Check price
CNET recommends it "after rigorous testing", for a 2K lens, a 160-degree view, color night vision that "works very well", an integrated spotlight, autotracking and 12x digital zoom. It stays an alternative because it has one test in what we read. CNET says Arlo Secure enables cloud recording and that local storage needs a separate SmartHub or Base Station, and it advises against this camera for people who want to avoid monthly fees. [src7]
PCWorld's Best Home Security Camera Overall: Arlo Pro 5S 2K (1 camera) — Check price
PCWorld's guide, updated July 24, 2025 and covering indoor and outdoor cameras, makes it the best home security camera overall, "easy to set up yet packed with cutting-edge features". SafeWise calls it "a top pick for its outstanding ability to detect just about anything", including fire. Reviewed says it tested the Pro 4 and describes this model as the upgrade. PCWorld lists subscription required for best features, a hub required to record locally, and no Apple HomeKit support. SafeWise's Arlo text mentions HomeKit, so check before buying for that. Security.org says recording clips requires Arlo Secure. [src2, src3, src4, src11]
TechGearLab's Best Indoor and Outdoor: Wyze Cam v4 — Check price
TechGearLab's 20-camera test ranks it second with a score of 83 and calls it "the best overall indoor and outdoor home security camera we tested", with 1440p video and a microSD card up to 512 GB. It says the camera "offers remarkable value for its price", struggles with reflective surfaces and could be clearer in low light. PCWorld's guide calls it "one of the best values in indoor/outdoor home security cameras", but files it as its best budget indoor camera, and lists dependence on hardwired power and a subscription to unlock its best features. It stays an alternative because PCWorld's verdict is an indoor pick, and the outdoor guides we read that name a Wyze value camera, from SafeWise and Outdoor Life, name the Pan v3. Read the Wyze note under Important Caveats. [src2, src11, src28, src29]
Reviewed's Alexa Pick: Ring Outdoor Cam Plus (Battery) — Check price
Reviewed tested this battery model and says it "makes a strong case as the best Alexa camera", with a crisp 2K image that "captured the entire area of my medium-sized backyard". It also warns not to expect "a significant difference between a 1080p and a 2K model in fine details". Reviewed says you will need a subscription to get the most from it, from $4.99 to $19.99 a month. Security.org notes it does not support 24/7 recording. It stays an alternative because it has one test in what we read. [src3, src4]
CNET's Best Solar: eufy SoloCam E30 — Check price
CNET makes the E30 its best solar outdoor camera: 2K, pan and tilt with AI tracking, a removable solar panel and IP65 weather resistance, designed to work with no subscription. It says eufy's app "can get pretty messy". CNET's guide says its picks are "Based on our tests", but this entry describes features and gives no test result of its own, so it stays an alternative. eufy says two hours of daily sun keeps it charged, and that it takes a microSD card up to 128 GB, not included. CNET describes one camera; this link is the 2-pack, which no outlet we read tested. [src7, src14]
Tom's Guide's 4K Verdict: eufyCam S3 Pro — Check price
Tom's Guide's review, dated November 18, 2024, says it "gives you the best 4K performance for the price", with "unmatched color night vision" and no false alerts in the month of use. It works with Alexa, Apple HomeKit and Google Home. Tom's Guide tested two cameras with a HomeBase 3.0; this link is the single add-on. Tom's Guide says you need the HomeBase for local storage and advanced AI features, so the add-on alone is not a complete system. Tom's Guide's guide, last updated May 14, 2026, names the EufyCam 3 as its subscription-free pick. The S3 Pro stays an alternative because it has one test in what we read. [src1, src5]
Head-to-Head Comparisons
Google Nest Cam (battery) vs Reolink Argus 4 Pro
Tom's Guide and Reviewed rank the Nest first, while SafeWise ranks the Argus 4 Pro first and lists the Nest third. The Nest is 1080p with a 130-degree view and three free hours of video history. The Argus 4 Pro is 4K across 180 degrees and records to a microSD card. PCWorld found the Nest's night vision black-and-white only, though Reviewed lists it as color. The Ambient says the Argus 4 Pro's color night vision "works brilliantly". [src1, src2, src4, src8, src17]
Pick the Nest Cam (battery) if: you want a very easy setup and free smart alerts, and you use Google Home.
Pick the Argus 4 Pro if: you want one camera to cover a wide area in 4K, with recordings on a card you own.
TP-Link Tapo C310 vs Blink Outdoor 4
The Blink Outdoor 4 is a wire-free 1080p camera on two AA batteries. Tom's Guide and CNET describe saving clips to a USB drive on a Sync Module 2, and Blink says the Sync Module Core in the kit we link does not support local storage. The C310 is a wired 2K camera that records to a microSD card with no plan. Consumer Reports credits the C310 with "stellar video quality", and Tom's Guide says the Blink's video "is good for the price". Tom's Guide says Blink only works with Alexa, and CNET says the C310 works with Alexa and Google Assistant. [src1, src6, src7, src15, src18]
Pick the Blink Outdoor 4 if: there is no power at the mounting point and you use Alexa.
Pick the Tapo C310 if: you have an outdoor-rated socket at the mounting point and want 2K video.
eufy SoloCam S340 vs Reolink Argus 4 Pro
Both run on a battery with a solar panel and need no plan to record, and we read no test comparing them directly. PCWorld says the S340 pans 360 degrees, while eufy's page lists 344, and it has wide-angle and telephoto lenses and stores on 8 GB of onboard memory. The Argus 4 Pro is fixed, covers 180 degrees in 4K and uses a microSD card you supply. PCWorld says the S340 has no 5GHz Wi-Fi, and The Ambient says the Argus 4 Pro has both bands. [src8, src19, src24]
Pick the SoloCam S340 if: you want to follow a subject and zoom in on details, and Consumer Reports' lab scores matter to you.
Pick the Argus 4 Pro if: you want the whole scene in view at once, without a motor.
Google Nest Cam (battery) vs Ring Outdoor Cam Plus
Both are tied to a smart home brand. CNET says the Nest works with Google Assistant and Alexa, and Reviewed lists the Ring for Alexa. The Nest keeps three hours of video history free, and Reviewed says you will need a subscription to get the most from the Ring. The Ring is 2K against the Nest's 1080p, though Reviewed warns not to expect a significant difference in fine details. [src1, src4, src7]
Pick the Nest Cam (battery) if: you use Google Home or want useful free features.
Pick the Ring Outdoor Cam Plus if: you run Alexa and Echo Show devices and will pay for a plan.
Decision Logic
If cost is the deciding factor
→ Recommend Blink Outdoor 4: Tom's Guide's best budget pick, with separate tests from Tom's Guide and CNET, each with a Sync Module 2; the listing we link includes the Sync Module Core. If there is an outdoor-rated socket and you want 2K, the TP-Link Tapo C310 is CNET's budget pick, with lab-tested video from Consumer Reports. If you want pan and tilt for the money and accept Wyze's security record, the Wyze Cam Pan v3 is TechGearLab's Best Value Panning Security Camera and Outdoor Life's Best Value. [src1, src6, src7, src18, src26] [src28, src29]
If user refuses any subscription
→ Recommend eufy SoloCam S340 (solar, 8 GB onboard), Reolink Argus 4 Pro (solar, microSD you supply), TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT (solar, microSD you supply) or TP-Link Tapo C310 (wired, microSD you supply). Avoid Ring Outdoor Cam Plus and the Arlo cameras here. The Blink kit we link is left out: Blink says its Sync Module Core does not support local storage. [src4, src6, src7, src8, src11] [src15, src19]
If primary concern is night vision quality
→ Recommend eufyCam S3 Pro with a HomeBase: Tom's Guide praises its "unmatched color night vision". Reolink Argus 4 Pro is the alternative that needs no base, on The Ambient's test. If you can hardwire, TechGearLab says the eufy Floodlight Camera E340 "swept the competition" in its night tests. Avoid the Nest Cam (battery): PCWorld found its night vision black-and-white only and short of the claimed range, though Reviewed lists color night vision. [src4, src5, src8, src17, src28]
If there is no power at the mounting point
→ Recommend eufy SoloCam S340, Reolink Argus 4 Pro or TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT, each with a solar panel. Without sun, Blink Outdoor 4 runs on AA batteries that Tom's Guide says should last up to two years. [src1, src8, src19, src34]
If user wants Apple HomeKit support
→ Recommend eufyCam S3 Pro, which Tom's Guide lists with Apple HomeKit. Reviewed says the Tapo C460 has none, The Ambient says the Reolink Argus 4 Pro has none, and PCWorld says the Arlo Pro 5S 2K has none. [src4, src5, src8, src11]
If user wants a floodlight camera
→ Recommend eufy Floodlight Camera E340, the floodlight pick of PCWorld and TechGearLab. It must be hardwired. [src11, src20, src28]
If user runs an Alexa home
→ Recommend Ring Outdoor Cam Plus (Battery), which Reviewed tested and says "makes a strong case as the best Alexa camera", with a plan budgeted in. [src4]
If there is no Wi-Fi at the mounting point
→ This card covers Wi-Fi cameras. CNET and Consumer Reports both tested the Arlo Go 2, a cellular model. [src6, src7]
Default recommendation
→ Google Nest Cam (battery). Tom's Guide and Reviewed both rank it first, on sharp video, free alerts and an easy install. If night vision or 4K matters more, read the rules above. [src1, src4]
Key Market Trends (2026)
- Plans keep changing: Blink raised its US plan rates from October 8, 2025. Ring renamed Ring Home plans to Ring Protect plans in 2026. Security.org and CNET now quote Google Home Premium for Nest cameras, while Tom's Guide's guide still quotes Nest Aware. [src1, src3, src7, src12, src25]
- Several cameras here use two lenses: The Argus 4 Pro stitches two lenses into one view, the SoloCam S340 and Floodlight E340 pair wide-angle with telephoto, and Tom's Guide and Reviewed pick other dual-camera models such as the Tapo C675D and the Blink Arc. [src1, src4, src8, src19, src20]
- Solar kits differ, so check the box: The SoloCam S340 comes with a panel, the eufyCam S3 Pro has one built in, and Reolink offers the Argus 4 Pro with one. TP-Link's Tapo C460 KIT has a panel, while its plain C460 page sells one separately. [src5, src19, src21, src22, src34]
- Free AI alerts vary by brand: Tom's Guide lists free person, vehicle and animal detection on the Nest Cam (battery), and Reviewed lists free detection on the Tapo C460. CNET says person detection on the Blink Outdoor 4 sits behind a paywall. [src1, src4, src18]
- Newer models are arriving: CNET says Blink has announced a 2K next-generation Outdoor camera, and Blink's devices page now lists the Outdoor 2K+. CNET also says Google's new wired Nest outdoor camera has higher resolution and more free storage than the battery model. [src7, src27]
Important Caveats
- Old tests. Several reviews here predate 2025: the Nest Cam (battery) reviews from Reviewed and PCWorld (August 24, 2021), T3's Tapo C310 (last updated July 4, 2022), Tom's Guide's Wyze Cam Pan v3 (June 29, 2023), TechGearLab's Wyze Cam Pan v3 (November 13, 2023), Tom's Guide's Blink Outdoor 4 (last updated November 15, 2023), SafeWise's Wyze Cam Pan v3 (February 20, 2024), PCWorld's S340 (March 7, 2024) and E340 (April 22, 2024), CNET's Blink Outdoor 4 (April 16, 2024), The Ambient's Argus 4 Pro (August 15, 2024) and Tom's Guide's S3 Pro (November 18, 2024). [src5, src8, src16, src17, src18] [src19, src20, src26, src30, src31, src33] [src37]
- Nest generations. Reviewed's guide labels its pick "2nd Gen" and says "we tested the first". The review it links is of the Nest Cam (battery), dated August 2021, and CNET uses the same "2nd gen" label for the battery model. Both outlets' Amazon links go to the listing linked here. TechGearLab tested a "Google Nest Cam 2nd Gen" and lists it with battery power. [src4, src7, src16, src28]
- Tested set against linked set. The Blink Outdoor 4, SoloCam E30 and eufyCam S3 Pro links are not the sets the outlets tested, and the difference is stated beside each verdict. The rank of the E30 and S3 Pro rests on the evidence: the S3 Pro has one test in what we read, and CNET's E30 entry gives no test result of its own. Tom's Guide and CNET tested the Blink with a Sync Module 2, and the listing we link includes the Sync Module Core. [src5, src7, src18, src26]
- Products left out, for evidence reasons. Each of these has one test in what we read: the Elysoo 4K kit and eufyCam S4 kit (Reviewed), the Tapo C675D (Tom's Guide), the Lorex 2K Wi-Fi Floodlight (CNET), the Lorex 4K Spotlight and Wyze Cam v3 Pro (Consumer Reports), and the ArmorCope battery camera, Outdoor Life's Best Budget. The Ring Spotlight Cam Pro has two, from SafeWise and CNET, but both mark it down: each calls it the priciest camera on its list. The Tapo C325WB has two as well, from Consumer Reports and Reviewed, and both rate its video highly, but neither makes it a budget or value pick: Consumer Reports lists its picks alphabetically, and Reviewed files it under other cameras it tested. [src1, src2, src4, src6, src7, src29]
- Pages we could not read. The Wirecutter and PCMag guides would not load for this check, so nothing here rests on them. Which?'s UK guide, dated November 2, 2026, lists the Tapo C310, SoloCam S340, SoloCam E30, Arlo Pro 6 and a eufyCam S3 Pro duo pack among cameras it tested, but its scores are for members only, so nothing here rests on them either. [src35]
- Maker figures. Battery and solar figures are maker claims unless a test is cited. TP-Link says actual battery life varies with settings, usage, router and environment. [src14, src22]
- Plan rates change. The rates here were read on 2026-11-03, and Wyze's on 2026-11-04. Sources disagree on some older figures, so check the plan page before buying. [src3, src6, src12, src32]
- Wi-Fi at the mounting point. CNET's Blink streaming problems cleared when the Sync Module moved from about 30 yards away to about 10, and PCWorld moved a mesh node to reach its E340. Check the signal before you drill. [src18, src20]
- TP-Link parent (Tapo C310, Tapo C460). The FCC's Covered List added routers produced in foreign countries on March 23, 2026. The Gadgeteer reports a Texas Attorney General suit against TP-Link and Microsoft threat reporting on compromised TP-Link routers, and says "the actions target routers, not the Tapo camera line". Consumer Reports rates the C310's data privacy as lackluster. The Gadgeteer says of the C460 that if your threat model includes nation-state concerns, it is not your camera. [src6, src9, src10]
- eufy privacy history (SoloCam S340, SoloCam E30, Floodlight E340, eufyCam S3 Pro). The Verge reported on January 31, 2023 that Anker admitted its eufy cameras "are not natively end-to-end encrypted" and had produced unencrypted streams for eufy's web portal, and that Anker promised fixes and outside audits. Consumer Reports names data privacy as the S340's only weak spot. [src6, src13]
- Wyze security record (Wyze Cam Pan v3, Wyze Cam v4). Reviewed says it excluded Wyze cameras after customers reported seeing live feeds from cameras that were not theirs. CNET says "Wyze continues to run into security and privacy concerns", naming data breaches, 2023 video caching issues and other breaches in 2024. SafeWise reports that a February 16, 2024 breach affected as many as 13,000 users and that Wyze "responded quickly". TechGearLab, Outdoor Life and PCWorld still rate these cameras well. [src4, src7, src11, src28, src29, src30]
Changes since our last ranking
- Arlo Pro 6 (1 camera) → added: Alternative
- Blink Outdoor 4 → no longer among this card's picks
- Blink Outdoor 4 + Sync Module Core (1 camera) → added: Best budget
- eufy Floodlight Camera E340 → Alternative → Best for a use case
- eufy SoloCam S340 → added: Best for a use case
- eufyCam S3 Pro (add-on camera) → Best value → Alternative
- Google Nest Cam (battery) → Alternative → Best overall
- Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel → added: Best for a use case
- REOLINK Argus 4 Pro 4K Solar Security Camera → no longer among this card's picks
- TP-Link Tapo C310 → added: Best for a use case
- TP-Link Tapo C460 → no longer among this card's picks
- TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT → added: Alternative
- Wyze Cam Pan v3 → added: Best value
- Wyze Cam v4 → added: Alternative
Source hierarchy
- Google Nest Cam (battery) — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: Tom's Guide, SafeWise, Security.org, Reviewed, CNET, PCWorld, TechGearLab · Consensus: not available
- Wyze Cam Pan v3 — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: SafeWise, TechGearLab, Outdoor Life, Tom's Guide, Reviewed, CNET · Consensus: not available
- Blink Outdoor 4 + Sync Module Core (1 camera) — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: Tom's Guide, Security.org, CNET, Outdoor Life, TechGearLab · Consensus: not available
- eufy SoloCam S340 — Price: not available · Testing: Consumer Reports, PCWorld, Outdoor Life · Consensus: not available
- Reolink Argus 4 Pro + solar panel — Price: not available · Testing: SafeWise, PCWorld · Consensus: not available
- TP-Link Tapo C310 — Price: not available · Testing: Consumer Reports, CNET, T3 · Consensus: not available
- eufy Floodlight Camera E340 — Price: Anker EufyHome (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: PCWorld, TechGearLab · Consensus: not available
- TP-Link Tapo C460 KIT — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: Reviewed, The Gadgeteer, Expert Reviews · Consensus: not available
- Arlo Pro 6 (1 camera) — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: CNET · Consensus: not available
- Arlo Pro 5S 2K (1 camera) — Price: alwayz-on-sale (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: SafeWise, Security.org, Reviewed, PCWorld · Consensus: not available
- Wyze Cam v4 — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: SafeWise, PCWorld, TechGearLab, Outdoor Life · Consensus: not available
- Ring Outdoor Cam Plus (Battery) — Price: Amazon.com (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: Security.org, Reviewed · Consensus: not available
- eufy SoloCam E30 (2-pack) — Price: Anker EufyHome (checked 2026-11-06) · Testing: CNET · Consensus: not available
- eufyCam S3 Pro (add-on camera) — Price: not available · Testing: Tom's Guide · Consensus: not available